Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  History Center





Below is information regarding the IEEE History Committee and its operations, as well as a list of its members.


About the IEEE History Committee

The History Committee, a Committee of the IEEE Board of Directors, is responsible for promoting the collection, writing, and dissemination of historical information in the fields covered by IEEE technical and professional activities, as well as historical information about the IEEE and its predecessor organizations. It provides assistance to all major organizational units, works with institutions of a public nature such as the Smithsonian Institution when helpful information is requested and can be secured, and provides information and recommendations to the IEEE Board of Directors when appropriate.

Typically, the History Committee holds two face-to-face meetings per year, with additional teleconferences scheduled as needed. The face-to-face meetings are usually in early March and early November of each year. Typically, they are held on Saturday and Sunday, and consist of a Saturday afternoon excursion of historical interest, a working buffet dinner on Saturday evening usually focused on strategic planning or similar. Sunday is an all-day meeting. Meeting locations are usually airport hotels (most often at Newark, New Jersey, USA).


top of page


2018 IEEE History Committee members

  • Bob Dent, Chair
  • Martin Bastiaans
  • Amy Bix
  • Jason Hui
  • Kartik Kulkarni
  • Allison Marsh
  • Janina Mazierska
  • Juan Carlos Miguez
  • Antonio Perez Yuste
  • Corinna Schlombs
  • John Vardalas


top of page