Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  News  >  2009

IEEE Celebrates 2009 Nobel Prize Winners

IEEE life members awarded for work with digital photography and helping link the world through fiber-optic networks

7 October – IEEE, the world’s largest technical professional association, is proud to congratulate three of its Life Fellows – Dr. Charles K. Kao, Dr. Willard S. Boyle and Dr. George E. Smith – as recipients of the 2009 Nobel Prize in physics. Recognized for breakthroughs involving the transmission of light in fiber optics and inventing an imaging semiconductor circuit, the three scientists created the technology behind digital photography and helped link the world through fiber-optic networks.

"As a physicist myself, I am especially proud that these three members of IEEE have been honored with the Nobel Prize in physics," said IEEE President John Vig.  "On behalf of our members around the globe, I congratulate these innovators for being recognized for advancing technology that has benefited humanity."

Read the full press release. (PDF, 98 KB)

Read related story in IEEE Spectrum .