Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  News  >  2009

IEEE Members Select Moshe Kam 2010 President-Elect

8 October – Moshe Kam, department head and Robert Quinn Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Drexel University, Philadelphia, Pa., USA, has been selected as 2010 IEEE President-Elect. Pending acceptance of the Teller's Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors on 22 November, Kam will begin serving as IEEE president on 1 January 2011. He will succeed 2010 IEEE President Pedro Ray, president, Ray Engineers, Old San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The other candidates for 2010 IEEE President-Elect were J. Roberto Boisson de Marca, professor, Pontifical Catholic University, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and Joseph V. Lillie, AT&T (retired) Lafayette, Louisiana, USA.  All of the candidates were nominated by the IEEE Board of Directors.

Of the members who voted, 15,690 selected Kam, 14,903 selected Lillie, and 12,704 selected de Marca.

Review the complete 2009 IEEE Annual Election results.