Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  News  >  2012

News Releases

IEEE Announces 2013 Medal and Recognition Honorees

Irwin M. Jacobs, Qualcomm Co-Founder, Named 2013 IEEE Medal of Honor Recipient

13 December 2012 – IEEE has announced its list of 2013 IEEE Medal recipients, the highest awards bestowed by IEEE, the world's largest professional organization dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence for the benefit of humanity.

IEEE Life Fellow Irwin M. Jacobs, co-founder of Qualcomm, Inc., has been named recipient of the 2013 IEEE Medal of Honor, IEEE’s highest award. Jacobs is being honored for leadership and fundamental contributions to digital communications and wireless technology. He oversaw Qualcomm's revolutionary innovations in Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA), a technology fundamental to today’s 3G mobile wireless standards.

The IEEE Medal of Honor recipient and 19 other technologists will be recognized at the IEEE Honors Ceremony on Saturday, 29 June 2013, in San Diego, CA, USA. The IEEE Donald G. Fink and the W.R.G. Baker Award recipients will be honored among their peers at an IEEE conference in 2013.

Since 1917, the IEEE Awards Program has paid tribute to technical professionals whose exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions have made a lasting impact on technology, society, the engineering profession, and humanity. Recipients of IEEE-level awards are recognized as the most influential members in their chosen field. They are revered for their resolve to discover, extend, or complement technological advancements in education, industry, research, and service. Each year, new recipients join the prestigious IEEE Award honoree list through a selective peer nomination and approval process.


Media contacts:

Francine Tardo
+1 732 465 5865

Monika Stickel
+1 732 562 6027


IEEE Social Media Sites

Follow and engage with IEEE on the following sites:

Follow on FaceBook   Facebook



Follow on YouTube   YouTube

Google +   Google+