Celebrating the 2015 IEEE Honors Ceremony RecipientsMildred Dresselhaus Photo

3 June - The achievements of IEEE Life Fellow Mildred S. Dresselhaus will be recognized with the IEEE Medal of Honor during the IEEE Honors Ceremony on 20 June in New York City, NY, USA. The event will be streamed live on IEEE.tv beginning at 6:30 p.m. ET (2230 UTC-04).

Dresselhaus paved the way for the rise of nanotechnology and blazed a path for women in science and engineering. Known as the “queen of carbon science” based on her life-long research into the properties of graphite and carbon-based materials, she was a pioneer in researching carbon when no one else seemed interested in its potential. She switched from research on superconductivity to magneto-optics and carried out a series of experiments that led to a fundamental understanding of the electronic structure of semimetals, especially graphite, which have encouraged bold new research into single-atom-thick grapheme, with potential practical applications in high-speed electronics circuits and systems. Her recent research interests have been on nanostructures, carbon nanotubes, bismuth nanowires, and low-dimensional thermoelectricity.

Additionally, two other special recognitions will be awarded at this year's IEEE Honors Ceremony:

The IEEE Spectrum Technology in the Service of Society Award will be presented to Daktari Diagnostics. This award is presented to the technology as having the most promising potential to provide the greatest overall benefit to humankind. Daktari has brought HIV Labs by backpack to rural Africa.

The IEEE Spectrum Emerging Technology Award will be presented to O3b Networks. This award is presented to the technology that has the most promising potential to provide the greatest financial return from broad commercial application. O3b Networks is revolutionizing communications with a groundbreaking, next-generation satellite constellation designed to bring better, faster, and more affordable connectivity.

A total of 24 technology giants (PDF, 252 KB) will be recognized for their accomplishments in advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.

Media contacts:

Francine Tardo
+1 732 465 5865

Monika Stickel
+1 732 562 6027