Technical site visits

Paris

  • Branly Milestone (the first radio signal detector)
  • Standards Institute of France (the standard meter is located there)

Geneva

  • CERN instrumentation Milestone
  • Swiss watch industry in Neuchatel

Munich

  • Deutsches Science Museum
  • BMW manufacturing facility
Day 1 (Arrival Day): Wednesday, 6 May
  • Arrival in Paris via Charles de Gaulle International Airport (travel to Paris at your own expense)
  • On your own for airport transfer to hotel
  • Welcome dinner
Day 2: Thursday, 7 May - Paris
  • Eduard Branly (private) Museum in the 6th Arrondissement
  • Buffet lunch provided by the IEEE France Section
  • ANFR Laboratory at Villejuif, Paris
Day 3: Friday, 8 May - Paris
Day 4: Saturday, 9 May - Paris
  • Seine cruise
  • Shopping excursion
  • Highlight dinner
Day 5: Sunday, 10 May - Travel to Beaune and Geneva
Day 6: Monday, 11 May - Geneva
  • CERN Laboratory
Day 7: Tuesday, 12 May - Geneva - Neuchatel
  • Travel to Neuchatel for visits to the heart of the Swiss watch industry, including lunch
  • Dinner provided by IEEE Switzerland Section Life members
Day 8: Wednesday, 13 May - Travel to Munich
  • Visit Montreux, Evian
  • Travel to Munich
  • Orientation tour/drive of Munich
Day 9: Thursday, 14 May - Munich
  • Alte Pinakothek
  • Viktualienmarkt and St. Peter's Church
  • BMW World
  • Dinner at the Hofbrauhaus with IEEE Germany Section
Day 10: Friday, 15 May - Munich
  • Technical University of Munich
  • Meeting with the IEEE Germany Section Life members, followed by a buffet lunch
  • Deutsches Museum
Day 11: Saturday, 16 May - Munich
Day 12 (Departure Day): Sunday, 17 May
  • Departure from International Airport of Munich (travel to home at your own expense)
  • On your own for all meals this day and airport transfer