2023 TAB HALL OF HONOR RECIPIENT NOMINATION FORM



CANDIDATE NAME: ANDREA J. GOLDSMITH

BIOGRAPHY: Andrea Goldsmith is the Dean of Engineering and Applied Science and the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Princeton University. She was previously the Stephen Harris Professor of Engineering and Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, where she is now Harris Professor Emerita. Her research interests are in information theory, communication

theory, and signal processing, and their application to wireless communications, interconnected systems, and neuroscience. She founded and served as Chief Technical Officer of Plume WiFi (formerly Accelera, Inc.) and of Quantenna (QTNA), Inc, and she currently serves on the Board of Directors for Medtronic (MDT) and Crown Castle Inc (CCI). Dr. Goldsmith is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the IEEE and of Stanford, and has received several awards for her work.

CITATION:

For pioneering role in Diversity and Inclusion in TAB, leading to the creation of the Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.

DESCRIPTION OF ACCOMPLISHMENT(S) RELATIVE TO MAJOR CONTRIBUTION(S) TO IEEE TECHNICAL ACTIVITIES:

Activity started as the 2016 IEEE TAB Ad Hoc Committee on Women and Underrepresented Groups. Was co-chaired by Andrea Goldsmith and Diana Marculescu The ad hoc proposed and received approval for formation of the TAB Diversity and Inclusion Committee at the Feb 2017 TAB Meeting. The committee was approved to begin work as soon as it was approved in 2017. Chair: IEEE Technical Activities Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (2017-2020) This Committee was crucial to the progress made by TAB to share the importance of Diversity & Inclusion, and to put in place metrics to make sure progress was made. The scope described in its charter specifies that "The TAB Committee on Diversity and Inclusion is responsible for ensuring that TAB policies, procedures, and practices are conducive to creating and maintaining a diverse and inclusive environment that is valuable for all members." Under the dynamic leadership of Andrea Goldsmith, the topic of Diversity & Inclusion gained prominence throughout TAB. It is worth mentioning that as a follow-up of this pioneering work at TAB, a Committee on Diversity, Inclusion and Professional Ethics was created at the level of the IEEE Board of Directors. Andrea Goldsmith was its first chair. Andrea Goldsmith was Chair: IEEE Board of Directors Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Professional Ethics (2019 - 2020).

DATE(S) OF ACCOMPLISHMENT(S): 2016 - 2020

RELEVANT IEEE ACTIVITIES:

- Awards received for her work include the IEEE Sumner Technical Field Award and the ComSoc Armstrong Technical Achievement Award.
- Chair: IEEE Board of Directors Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Professional Ethics (2019- 2020)
- Chair: IEEE Technical Activities Committee on Diversity and Inclusion (2017-2020)
- Member: IEEE Strategic Planning Committee (2017-2020)
- Chair: IEEE Technical Activities Ad Hoc Committee on Women and URMs (2015-2017)
- Chair: IEEE Bell Medal Committee (2014-2017), Member (2011-2013)
- Chair: IEEE Communications Society Emerging Technology Committee (2012-2014)
- Member: IEEE Communications Society Strategic Planning Committee (2012-2014)
- President: IEEE Information Theory Society (2009), Officer (2007-2011) Chair: IEEE Information Theory Society Claude E. Shannon Award Committee (2009), Chair: IEEE Information Theory Society Awards Committee (2008)
- Member: IEEE Technical Activities Board (2008-2009)
- Founder and Chair: IEEE Information Theory Society Student Committee (2005-2008)
- Board of Governors: IEEE Information Theory Society (2002-2007)
- Board of Governors: IEEE Communications Society (2005-2008) IEEE Eric E.
- Sumner Technical Field Award in Communications Technology 2019
- IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee Distinguished Service Award 2019
- IEEE Information Theory Society Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award 2018
- IEEE iCon Award for Outstanding Achievement in Conference Innovation 2018
- IEEE Communications Society Women in Communications Engineering Mentoring Award – 2017
- IEEE Communications Society Edwin H. Armstrong Technical Achievement Award –2014
- IEEE Communications Society Women in Communications Engineering Achievement Award – 2014
- Technical Achievement Award in Communication Theory: IEEE Communications Society 2013
- IEEE Information Theory Society Distinguished Lecturer 2010-2011
- Technical Achievement Award in Wireless Communications: IEEE Communications Society 2009
- IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer 2007-2008