Program timeline

Award nominations and scholarship applications are accepted until the Monday following 30 April of each year.

The Nomination and Application forms are available at:

Should you have any questions, please contact

The nominator or scholarship applicant is responsible for ensuring that all materials are submitted in time to meet the deadline. This includes both the nomination or scholarship application form and the required reference letters.

Nominator requirements

Current members of the IEEE EAB, IEEE-HKN-BOG, or members of the IEEE professional staff, may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of EAB or IEEE-HKN Awards, unless otherwise specified. Current members of the IEEE EAB Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC), IEEE Life Members Committee (LMC), trustees and officers of the Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Graduate Fund or the IEEE-HKN Awards & Recognition Committee may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of awards associated with their respective committees, unless otherwise specified.

As specified in IEEE Policy 4.4.H, Eligibility and Process Limitations, individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Self-nominations will not be accepted, unless otherwise noted.


Self-nominations are not accepted for any EAB Award unless otherwise noted. However, for the scholarships listed above, self-nominations/applications are acceptable.

An individual can only serve as a nominator or reference for one award per category. For most EAB Awards, the nominator does not need to be an IEEE member, unless otherwise noted.

Team awards

In the event of an award going to a team, when recipients are required to be IEEE members, i.e., Accreditation, Continuing Education, Educational Innovation, all members of the team are required to be IEEE members. Travel will be provided for one recipient only. Honorarium is to be split equally among the team members. Only one honorarium for any one award will be given.

Please see the individual award pages for any exceptions.


The nominator is responsible for providing a minimum of three and a maximum of five people to serve as references for an award. At least two references need to be IEEE members. This applies to most awards, except where noted on the individual awards pages.

Additional information on references can be found on the FAQ page.

Past award recipients

2023 awardees, pictured left to right, front to back: Ankush Agarwal (Exelon Corp), Chase Anderson, Melody Richardson, Rabab Ward (Vice President of EA), Abdul Ansari (Dehli Section), John Zulaski, Norman Phoenix, DongHyun (Bill) Kim, John Orr, April Cheung, Sandra Magnus, John DeGraw, Colleen Bailey, Sampathkumar Veeraraghaven (President of IEEE-HKN), Karen Panetta, S.K. Ramesh (Chair of EAB ARC), Douglas De Boer, Andrew Jamison (Geering Up Engineering Outreach), Gary Ka Wai Wong. Not pictured: Allen Conrad Small, Michael Wiltermood, Rajeev Verma, Marilyn Genther, William Wilkens, Gerald Sussman, Witold Kinsner, Manuel Delgado-Restituto (Circuits and Systems Society).
Call for Nominations
Nominations accepted for the
2024 EAB Awards
beginning 1 February 2024.
Celebrating Brilliant Minds and a Bright Future