Program timeline

Award nominations and scholarship applications are accepted until the Monday following 30 April of each year.

The EAB Awards Nomination forms are available:

Should you have any questions, please contact

The nominator or scholarship applicant is responsible for ensuring that all materials are submitted in time to meet the deadline. This includes both the nomination or scholarship application form and all the reference forms required.

Nominator requirements

Current members of the IEEE EAB, IEEE-HKN-BOG, or members of the IEEE professional staff, may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of EAB or IEEE-HKN Awards, unless otherwise specified. Current members of the IEEE EAB Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC), IEEE Life Members Committee (LMC), trustees and officers of the Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Graduate Fund or the IEEE-HKN Awards & Recognition Committee may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of awards associated with their respective committees, unless otherwise specified.

As specified in IEEE Policy 4.4.H, Eligibility and Process Limitations, individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Self-nominations will not be accepted, unless otherwise noted.


Self-nominations are not accepted for any EAB Award unless otherwise noted. However, for the scholarships listed above, self-nominations/applications are acceptable.

An individual can only serve as a nominator or reference for one award per category. For most EAB Awards, the nominator does not need to be an IEEE member, unless otherwise noted.

Team awards

In the event of an award going to a team, when recipients are required to be IEEE members, i.e., Accreditation, Continuing Education, Educational Innovation, all members of the team are required to be IEEE members. Travel will be provided for one recipient only. Honorarium is to be split equally among the team members. Only one honorarium for any one award will be given.

Please see the individual award pages for any exceptions.


The nominator is responsible for providing a minimum of three and a maximum of five people to serve as references for an award. At least two references need to be IEEE members. This applies to most awards, except where noted on the individual awards pages.

Additional information on references can be found on the FAQ page.

Past award recipients

2022 Awardees pictured left to right, front to back: Albert P. Pisano, Brandon Ung, Ece Yaprak, Donna Angela Roper, Susana Lau, Nelida Gomez, Karen A. Panetta,  Stephen M. Phillips (Vice President of EA), James M. Conrad (President of IEEE-HKN), Stamatis Dragoumanos, Achuta Kadambi, Thomas D. O'Sullivan, Andrew Cochran, Chang-Shing Lee, S.K. Ramesh (Chair of EAB ARC). 
  • April Cheung - Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities
  • John Orr - Meritorious Achievement Award in Accreditation Activities
  • Gary Ka Wai Wong - Meritorious Achievement Award in Pre-University Education
  • Melody Richardson - Meritorious Achievement Award in Pre-University Education
  • John A. Zulaski, Norman E. Phoenix, Douglas DeBoer, Michael J. Wiltermood, Rajeev Verma, Marilyn Genther, and William D. Wilkens  - Meritorious Achievement Award in Outreach and Informal Education
  • Gerald J. Sussman - Major Education Innovation Award
  • Witold Kinsner - Meritorious Service Citation Award
  • Exelon Corporation - Employer Professional Development Award
  • IEEE Delhi Section - Section Professional Development Award
  • IEEE Circuits and Systems Society - Society/Council Professional Development Award
  • UBC Geering Up Engineering Outreach - Vice President's Recognition Award
  • Chase Anderson - IEEE Life Members Graduate Study Fellowship in Electrical Engineering
  • Allen Conrad Small - IEEE Charles LeHeyt Fortescue Scholarship
Congratulations to all the Awardees!  A formal award presentation ceremony will be held in November 2023.