The Section Professional Development Award recognizes an IEEE Section for major contributions to the professional development of its members through the provision of outstanding products, services, and support in the areas of life-long learning, continuing education, and professional development. Nomination deadline is Monday, 4 May 2020.

Nominate a Section for an EAB award

Nominee eligibility

Candidates must be IEEE Sections.

Self-nominations are not accepted for any EAB Award. However, for the scholarships listed above, self-nominations/applications are acceptable. An individual can only serve as a nominator or reference for one award per category. For most EAB Awards, the nominator does not need to be an IEEE member.


Multiple Award Recipients

Multiple Award Recipients are defined as a group of three or fewer people (not a team) working on the same contribution, each individual having separate but valuable contributions.

Multiple recipients may have the same citation, or different citations depending on their contributions. Unless otherwise specified, all EAB Awards may be awarded to an individual, multiple recipient, or a team. In the event of multiple recipients, travel will be provided for all to attend the EAB Award Presentation Ceremony in the year in which the award is given. Recipients will receive awards and honorariums, where applicable, as specified for each award.


Team awards

In the event of an award going to a team, when recipients are required to be IEEE members, i.e., Accreditation, Continuing Education, Educational Innovation, all members of the team are required to be IEEE members. Travel will be provided for one recipient only. Honorarium is to be split equally among the team members. Only one honorarium for any one award will be given.

Please see the individual award pages for any exceptions.


The award consists of a plaque.

Nominator requirements

The nominator for this award must be an IEEE member.

Current members of the IEEE EAB, IEEE-HKN-BOG, or members of the IEEE professional staff, may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of EAB or IEEE-HKN Awards, unless otherwise specified. Current members of the IEEE EAB Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC), IEEE Life Members Committee (LMC), trustees and officers of the Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Graduate Fund or the IEEE-HKN Awards & Recognition Committee may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of awards associated with their respective committees, unless otherwise specified.

As specified in IEEE Policy 4.4.H, Eligibility and Process Limitations, individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive, or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Self-nominations will not be accepted, unless otherwise noted.

Submit a nomination

Reference requirements

The nominator is responsible for providing a minimum of three, and a maximum of five, people to serve as references for this award. At least two references must be IEEE members and may be members of IEEE Sections other than the Section nominated.