IEEE thanks its members for their support during these challenging times. We provide many tools to support our membership through virtual conferences and meetings, online collaboration tools, publishing impactful cutting-edge research, virtual educational resources, and more.  


IEEE offers an electronic membership option to new and renewing members who reside in countries where the per capita Gross National Income (GNI) is US$15,000 or less, as determined by the data published by the World Bank. Though published annually, IEEE uses a three-year average of the GNI for each country to determine eligibility.

Below is a list of the qualifying countries where members can select the electronic membership option priced at US$82-US$98.

Countries marked with an asterisk are eligible for electronic membership priced at US$33-US$47.

Do you reside in a country not on this list? IEEE offers other reduced dues options to members who are unemployed, retired, or meet a minimum income threshold. Learn more about these special circumstances.

Qualifying countries


Afghanistan* Ecuador Macedonia Saint Kitts and Nevis
Albania Egypt Madagascar* Saint Lucia
Algeria El Salvador Malawi* Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Angola Eritrea* Malaysia Samoa
Antigua and Barbuda Estonia Maldives Sao Tome and Principe
Argentina Eswatini Mali* Senegal
Armenia Ethiopia* Mauritania Serbia
Azerbaijan Fiji Mauritius Seychelles
Bangladesh Gabon Mexico Sierra Leone*
Barbados Gambia* Moldova Slovakia
Belarus Georgia Mongolia Solomon Islands
Belize Ghana Montenegro Somalia*
Benin* Grenada Montserrat South Africa
Bhutan Guatemala Morocco South Sudan*
Bolivia Guinea* Mozambique* Sri Lanka 
Bosnia and Herzegovina Guinea-Bissau* Myanmar Sudan 
Botswana Guyana Namibia Suriname
Brazil Haiti* Nauru Syrian Arab Republic
Bulgaria Honduras Nepal* Tajikistan*
Burkina Faso* Hungary Nicaragua Tanzania*
Burundi* India Niger* Thailand 
Cambodia* Indonesia Nigeria Timor-Leste 
Cameroon Iran, Islamic
Republic of
Cape Verde
Iraq Pakistan Tonga 
Central African Republic* Jamaica Panama Tunisia
Chad* Jordan Papua New
Chile Kazakhstan Paraguay Turkmenistan
China, People's Republic of
Kenya Peru Tuvalu
Colombia Kiribati Philippines Uganda*
Comoros* Korea, Dem.
Rep. North*
Poland Ukraine
Congo* Kosovo Romania Uruguay
Cook Islands Kyrgyzstan
Costa Rica Lao People's
Democratic Republic
Rwanda* Vanuatu
Cote d Ivoire Latvia   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Croatia Lebanon   Vietnam
Lesotho   Yemen
Democratic People's Republic
of Korea
Liberia*   Zambia
Democratic Republic
of the Congo
Libyan Arab
Djibouti Lithuania    
Dominican Republic      


Benefits & Testimonials

engineers collaborating

IEEE members connect, communicate, and learn from colleagues, in addition to saving on products and services.