Skip Navigation

Home  >  Membership  >  Join

IEEE offers an electronic membership option to new and renewing members who reside in countries where the per capita Gross National Income (GNI) is US$15,000 or less, as determined by the data published by the World Bank. Though published annually, IEEE uses a three-year average of the GNI for each country to determine eligibility.

Below is a list of the qualifying countries where members can select the electronic membership option priced at US$81.50-US$95.50.

Countries marked with an asterisk are eligible for electronic membership priced at US$27.50 (does not include regional assessment which ranges US$4-US$13).

Do you reside in a country not on this list? IEEE offers other reduced dues options to members who are unemployed, retired, or meet a minimum income threshold. Learn more about these special circumstances.


Qualifying countries




Afghanistan* Ecuador Macedonia Saint Kitts and Nevis
Albania Egypt Madagascar* Saint Lucia
Algeria El Salvador Malawi* Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Angola Eritrea* Malaysia Samoa
Antigua and Barbuda Ethiopia* Maldives Sao Tome and Principe
Argentina Fiji Mali* Senegal
Armenia Gabon Mauritania Serbia
Azerbaijan Gambia* Mauritius Seychelles
Bangladesh Georgia Mexico Sierra Leone*
Barbados Ghana Moldova Slovakia
Belarus Grenada Mongolia Solomon Islands
Belize Guatemala Montenegro Somalia*
Benin* Guinea* Montserrat South Africa
Bhutan Guinea-Bissau* Morocco South Sudan*
Bolivia Guyana Mozambique* Sri Lanka 
Bosnia and Herzegovina Haiti* Myanmar Sudan 
Botswana Honduras Namibia Suriname
Brazil Hungary Nauru Swaziland 
Bulgaria India Nepal* Syrian Arab Republic 
Burkina Faso* Indonesia Nicaragua Tajikistan 
Burundi* Iran, Islamic Republic of Niger* Tanzania*
Cambodia* Iraq Nigeria Thailand  
Cameroon Jamaica Occupied Palestinian Territory Timor-Leste  
Cape Verde Jordan Pakistan Togo*
Central African Republic* Kazakhstan Panama Tonga  
Chad* Kenya Papua New Guinea Tunisia 
Chile Kiribati Paraguay Turkey
China, People's Republic of Korea, Dem. Rep.-North*  Peru Turkmenistan
Colombia Kosovo  Philippines Tuvalu
Comoros* Kyrgyzstan Poland Uganda*
Congo* Lao People's Democratic Republic Romania Ukraine
Cook Islands Latvia Russian Federation Uruguay
Costa Rica Lebanon Rwanda* Uzbekistan
Cote d Ivoire Lesotho   Vanuatu
Croatia Liberia*   Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
Cuba Libyan Arab Jamahiriya   Vietnam
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Lithuania   Yemen
Democratic Republic of the Congo     Zambia
Djibouti     Zimbabwe*
Dominican Republic      




top of page


Benefits & Testimonials

engineers collaborating

IEEE members connect, communicate, and learn from colleagues, in addition to saving on products and services.