Skip Navigation

Home  >  Membership & Services  >  Students  >  Awards





The purpose of this recognition system serves to change the mindset of our student groups from being number-driven to becoming value-driven and to acknowledge exemplary student activities around the world. The goal is to improve the quality of activities and to foster knowledge sharing among students. Ultimately, the initiative is targeted at improving student-membership growth. This will encourage and motivate students to continue to innovate and implement meaningful ideas.


Eligibility criteria

  1. This award requires interested student groups to submit a description of an organized activity.
  2. There can be several winners each year, depending on the number of nominations and quality of submission. It allows the same submitted activity to be elevated to the next highest medal based on future improvements made in subsequent years. Note: The activities that have been organized more than once will be given more consideration. The intent is to encourage consistency, spurring Student Branches to discover their niche and continually improve on it.
  3. All IEEE Student Branches, Student Branch Chapters, and Student Branch Affinity Groups of Women in Engineering (WIE) are eligible for this award program.
  4. Activities organized by multiple Student Branches and/or Student Branch Chapters are also eligible.
  5. Submitting more than one nomination for the same activity will result in disqualification.


top of page


Nomination process

  1. Fill in the nomination form and complete each section in a concise manner, explaining how the activity qualifies for receiving the award.
  2. Attach a supporting document (maximum five (5) pages / pdf format/ no zip files) with photos, promotional material, etc. Additional documentation may be attached if you need to highlight a key point, but the decision to review this is at the sole discretion of the judges. It is mandatory that the first attachment is limited to a maximum of five (5) pages and that it is in pdf format. Failure to comply with this requirement could result in disqualification.
  3. Attach an endorsement letter acknowledging and recommending activities in the nomination from the SB Counselor (or Dept. Head or Section SAC or Section Chair).
  4. The nominator(s) shall submit the Nomination via My Review Room.


top of page



1 February (annually)


top of page


Evaluation criteria

  1. Each entry will be categorized in the classifications: unranked, bronze, silver, gold, platinum (in the order of increasing value)
  2. The judging is carried out primarily on the below criteria:
    1. The concept (0-15)
      1. Problem recognition/reason for activity (0-5)
      2. Relevance/value created (0-5)
      3. Creativity/uniqueness (0-5)
    2. Implementation (0-20)
      1. Implementation/organization (0-15)
      2. Collaboration (0-5)
    3. Repeatability (0-15)
      1. Sustainability (0-8)
      2. Portability (0-7)
    4. Results and outcomes (0-30)
      1. Participation (0-5)
      2. Positive impact (0-25)


top of page



The student branch will be presented with a digital certificate.  Platinum winners will receive a plaque. Hard copy of the certificate will be provided upon request.


top of page


2014 recipients


Student Branch
Section Region
Banarus Hindu University Uttar Pradesh 10
Thadomal Shahani Engineering College Bombay 10
University of Brasilia Center-North of Brazil 9
Ecole Nationale d'ingénieurs de Sfax Tunisia 8
Student Branch Section Region
University of Moratuwa Sri Lanka 10
Alexandria University Egypt 8
Universidad de los Andes Colombia 9
University of the West Indies Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad and Tobago 9
Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham Kerala 10
G.H.Patel College of Engineering & Technology Gujarat 10
Universidad Diego Portales Chile 9
IEEE Student Branch Osijek Croatia 8
Delhi Technological University Delhi 10
Yildiz Technical University Turkey 8
Student Branch
Section Region
National Institute of Technology Karnataka Bangalore 10
IEEE METU Student Branch Turkey 8
University of Southampton UKRI 8
NFC Institute of Engineering and Fertilizer Research Lahore 8
Yildiz Technical University Turkey 8
Yildiz Technical University-RLC GUNLERI Turkey 8
Federal University of Juiz de Fora Minas Gerias 9
Muffakham Jah college of Engineering and Technology Hyderabad 10
Univ Militar Nueva Granada Colombia 9

Izmir Institute of Technology

Turkey 8
Instituto Superior Portugal 8
University of Manchester UKRI 8
University of Patras Greece 8
American University of Beirut Lebanon 8



2013 recipients


Student Branch
Univ of PatrasGreece8
Student BranchSectionRegion
Rice UniversityHouston5
Univ Of SkopjeRepublic of Macedonia8
University of BrasiliaBrasilia9
IEEE Pontificia Universidad Javeriana BogotaColumbia9
Universidad Distrital Francisco José de CaldasColumbia9
National Institute of Technology KarnatakaBangalore10
 Delhi Technological UniversityDelhi10
College of Engineering ChengannurKerala10
 Student Branch
Arab Academy for Science, Technology and Maritime TransportEgypt8
Arab Academy for Science and Technology - AlexandriaEgypt8
National Technical University of AthensGreece8
American University of BeirutLebanon8
Ibra College of TechnologyOman8
IEEE OpolePoland8
University of LjubljanaSlovenia8
Technical University of Madrid (ETSIT-UPM)Spain8
National Engineering School of SfaxTunisia8

Yildiz Technical University

B M Sreenivasiah College of Engineering Bangalore10
National Institute of Technology, WarangalHyderabad10
University of PeradeniyaSri Lanka10
Benaras Hindu UniversityUP (India)10



top of page


2011 recipients

German Jordanian University: Platinum
Vigana Bharathi Institute of Technology: Gold
IEEE Student Branch Leuven: Gold
Muffakham Jah College of Engineering and Technology: Silver
Manulana Azad National Institute of Technology: Bronze