Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Awards  >  TFAS






Award information

The IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1986. The Award is named in honor of Dr. Koji Kobayashi, who has been a leading force in advancing the integrated use of computers and communications.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: NEC Corporation

Presented to: An individual, multiple recipients, or a team of up to three

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the integration of computers and communications

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: developments, inventions, systems, or methods of significance in the field of computer and communications for which the candidate deserves principal credit, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement. 


top of page


Award nomination forms


top of page


Award recipients


top of page


Award committee members

  • David Tse, Chair
  • Don Towsley, Past Chair
  • C.S. John Lui
  • Matthias Grossglauser
  • Peter Marbach
  • Jennifer Rexford
  • Emina Soljanin


top of page