Medal information

The IEEE Founders Medal was established by the Institute of Radio Engineers in 1952. It derives its character and purpose from the inspiring example of leadership and service set by the three founders of the Institute: Alfred N. Goldsmith, who was Director Emeritus and Editor Emeritus of IEEE, Messrs. John V. L. Hogan, and Robert Marriott.

This purpose is perhaps best expressed by the citation that accompanied the first award, which read in part: "For outstanding contributions to the profession and to the Institute through wise and courageous leadership in the planning and administration of technical developments."

The progress of a profession rests not only on the technical abilities of its members, but on the qualities of leadership and dedication that they possess. It is therefore highly appropriate that among the major awards of IEEE, there is one that brings deserved recognition to these important attributes.

Sponsor: The IEEE Foundation

Presented to: This award is given to an individual or group, up to three in number.

Scope: For outstanding contributions in the leadership, planning, and administration of affairs of great value to the electrical and electronics engineering profession

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, a bronze replica, a certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: outstanding leadership; planning or administration of affairs related to the profession; and quality of nomination. The candidate(s) should be a major industry administrator, or manager of a complex scientific mission. An additional consideration may be service to IEEE beyond normal expectations.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Medal committee members

  • Nambi Seshadri, Chair
  • Tariq Durrani
  • Yonina Eldar
  • Elza Erkip
  • Ashok Jhunjhunwala
  • Takeo Kanade
  • Hugh Rudnick
  • Robin Saxby
  • En-Hui Yang