Medal information

The IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology was established in February 2009.

IEEE and the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society have been involved in the life sciences since 1953; the establishment of this medal will promote IEEE as well as past and future contributions to the life-sciences field.

Presented to: An individual, a team of individuals, or multiple recipients up to five in number

Scope: For exceptional contributions to technologies and applications benefitting healthcare, medicine, and the health sciences

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on the profession and/or society; succession of significant technical or other contributions; leadership in accomplishing worthwhile goal(s); previous honors; other achievements as evidenced by publications or patents or other evidence; and quality of nomination.

The areas of technology recognized by this medal include, but are not limited to: bio-signal processing; biomedical imaging and image processing; bio-instrumentation; bio-sensors; bio micro/nano technologies; bio-informatics; computational biology and systems biology; cardiovascular and respiratory systems engineering; cellular and tissue engineering; bio-materials; bio robotics; bio-mechanics; therapeutic and diagnostic systems; medical device design and development; healthcare information systems; telemedicine; and emerging technologies in biomedicine (e.g., biophotonics).

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Sponsor: IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society

IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society

Medal committee members

  • Bruce Wheeler, Chair
  • Rena Bizios
  • Adam Liebert
  • Nigel Lovell
  • Ellis Meng
  • Thomas Stieglitz
  • Yulun Wang
  • Guang-Zhong Yang
  • Yuanting Zhang