Medal information

The IEEE John von Neumann Medal, established by the Board of Directors in 1990, is named in honor of the eminent mathematician John von Neumann, whose work at the Institute for Advanced Study led to the building of the IAS binary stored-program computer in 1952. The IAS machine served as the model for IBM's first all-electronic stored-program computer (the 701).

Sponsor: IBM Corporation

Presented to: An individual or team up to three

Scope: For outstanding achievements in computer-related science and technology

Prize: The award consists of a gold medal, bronze replica, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for Judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: truly outstanding contributions in computer hardware, software, or systems art; cited work in the form of publications, patents, products, or simply general recognition by the profession that the individual cited is the agreed originator of the advance; and quality of nomination.

The achievements may be theoretical, technological, or entrepreneurial. Subject areas cover computer architecture, base technologies, systems, languages, algorithms and protocols, and application domains.

Nomination deadline: 15 June

Endorsement deadline: 1 July

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the November IEEE Board of Directors meeting. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Then the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: At the annual IEEE Honors Ceremony

Medal committee members

  • Frans Kaashoek, Chair
  • Greg Morrissett, Past Chair
  • Ruy de Queiroz
  • Peter Druschel
  • Prakash Panangaden
  • Sunita Sarawagi
  • Joseph Sifakis
  • Bernhard Schölkopf
  • Eva Tardos