Award information

The IEEE Electromagnetics Award was established by the IEEE Board of Directors in 1996.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsors: IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society, IEEE Electromagnetic Compatibility Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, and the IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society

Presented to: An individual

Scope: For outstanding contributions to the theory and/or application of electromagnetics

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: impact on the profession, innovation/originality, quality of publications, breadth, depth and duration of contributions, honors, other achievements, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Trevor S. Bird, Chair
  • Yahya Rahmat-Samii, Past Chair
  • Susan Hagness
  • Joungho Kim 
  • Dominique Schreurs
  • Leung Tsang
  • Ke Wu