Award information

The IEEE Photonics Award was established in 2002.

Photonics is defined as the science and technology of generating and harnessing light and other forms of radiant energy whose quantum unit is the photon.

It is awarded for, but not limited to: light-generation, transmission, deflection, amplification and detection and the optical/electro-optical componentry and instrumentation used to accomplish these functions.

Also included are storage technologies utilizing photonics to read or write data and optical display technologies. It also extends from energy generation/propagation, communications, information processing, storage and display, biomedical and medical uses of light and measurement applications.

Recipient selection is administered through the Technical Field Awards Council of the IEEE Awards Board.

Sponsor: IEEE Photonics Society

Presented to: An individual or a team of not more than three

Scope: For outstanding achievements in photonics

Prize: The award consists of a bronze medal, certificate, and honorarium.

Basis for judging: In the evaluation process, the following criteria are considered: outstanding discovery, significant scientific or technological advancement, important invention, impact on field, and the quality of the nomination.

Nomination deadline: 15 January

Endorsement deadline: 31 January

Notification: Recipients are typically approved during the June IEEE Board of Directors meeting, usually held towards the end of the month. Recipients and their nominators will be notified following the meeting. Subsequently, the nominators of unsuccessful candidates will be notified of the status of their nomination.

Presentation: IEEE policy requires that its awards be presented at major IEEE events that are in keeping with the nature of the award and the cited achievement.

Award committee members

  • Dalma Novak, Chair
  • Chennupati Jagadish, Past Chair
  • Liam Barry 
  • Andrew Chraplyvy 
  • Ursula Keller 
  • Fumio Koyoma    
  • David Plant