Skip Navigation

Home  >  About  >  Corporate  >  Election





The voting membership of IEEE annually elects officers that serve on the top-tier IEEE governing bodies.


IEEE Members Selected James A. Jefferies as 2017 IEEE President-Elect

Headshot of Jim Jefferies

7 October - James A. Jefferies, Senior member, has been selected as the 2017 IEEE President-Elect. Pending acceptance of the IEEE Tellers' Committee report by the IEEE Board of Directors on 20-21 November, Jefferies will begin serving as IEEE President on 1 January 2018. He will succeed 2017 IEEE President Karen Bartleson, Senior Director of Corporate Programs and Initiatives, Synopsys (retired), Mountain View, CA, USA. The other candidate for 2017 IEEE President-Elect was Wanda K. Reder, Chief Strategy Officer, S&C Electric Company, Chicago, IL, USA (nominated by IEEE Board of Directors).

Of the members who voted, 23,865 selected James A. Jefferies and 23,327 selected Wanda K. Reder.


top of page


Proposed IEEE Constitutional Amendment

7 October - The Proposed IEEE Constitutional Amendment was not approved.


top of page


IEEE Society Elections

Contact Society elections support staff at society-