The Meritorious Achievement Award in Pre-University Education recognizes individuals for work in a pre-university school, or those that influence school-based activities for pre-university students. These individuals should have inspired an appreciation and understanding of mathematics, science, technology, and the engineering process in pre-university students, and have encouraged them to pursue technical careers. Nomination deadline is Monday, 1 May 2023.

Nominate someone for an EAB Award

Nominee eligibility

Members and non-members of IEEE are eligible for this award.

Self-nominations are not accepted for any EAB Award. 

Team awards
In the event of an award going to a team, when a recipient is required to be an IEEE member, all members of the team are required to be IEEE members. Travel will be provided for one recipient only. Honorarium is to be shared equally among the team members. Only one honorarium for any one award will be given.

Nominator requirements

The nominator for this award is required to be a member of IEEE.

Current members of the IEEE EAB, IEEE-HKN-BOG, or the IEEE professional staff may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of EAB or IEEE-HKN Awards, unless otherwise specified. Current members of the IEEE EAB Awards and Recognition Committee (ARC), IEEE Life Members Committee (LMC), or trustees and officers of the Charles LeGeyt Fortescue Graduate Fund or the IEEE-HKN Awards & Recognition Committee may not be nominators, recipients, or endorsers of awards associated with their respective committees, unless otherwise specified.

As specified in IEEE Policy 4.4.H, Eligibility and Process Limitations, individuals serving on any board or committee involved at any stage of the recipient selection or approval process for an award shall be ineligible to receive or act as a nominator or reference for that award. This conflict of interest limitation shall apply to all awards given by the IEEE or any of its organizational units.

Self-nominations will not be accepted, unless otherwise noted.

An individual can only serve as a nominator or reference for one award per category.


The award consists of a plaque and US$1,000 honorarium. 

Reference requirements

The nominator is responsible for providing a minimum of three, and a maximum of five, people to serve as references for this award. It is strongly recommended that one reference be a recent, direct supervisor.

An individual can only serve as a nominator or reference for one award per category.