University Resource Committee

As the IEEE Educational Activities Board (EAB) renewed its strategy over 2011/2012, the role of the University Resource Committee (URC) was conceived. Formally chartered in early 2013, IEEE’s URC consists of three accreditation committees and two additional committees. The accreditation groups include the Committee on Engineering Accreditation Activities (CEAA), the Committee on Engineering Technology Accreditation Activities (CETAA), and the Committee on Global Accreditation Activities (CGAA). The two additional committees devoted to faculty and students are the Faculty Resources Committee (FRC) and the Student Educational Resources Committee (SERC).

URC overview

While the URC committee structure is complex, the goal is to bring together accreditation and engineering education responsibilities under a single umbrella. The URC also benefits from representation of entities such as IEEE Eta Kappa Nu (IEEE-HKN), the IEEE Education Society, Electrical and Computer Engineering Department Heads Association (ECEDHA), Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology Department Heads Association (ECETDHA), IEEE Member and Geographic Activities (MGA), and IEEE Technical Activities Board (TAB).