Skip Navigation

Home  >  About IEEE  >  Corporate  >  Election





The voting membership of IEEE annually elects officers that serve on the top-tier IEEE governing bodies. The candidates are drawn from recommendations made by divisional and regional nominating committees, as well as candidates nominated by petition. In addition, the names will include candidates for positions in the IEEE Standards Association, IEEE Technical Activities, and IEEE-USA.

Below are the candidates for the election offices for the coming term.

The sequence of candidates was determined by lottery and indicates no preference.


IEEE President-Elect, 2017

  • James A. Jefferies (Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)
  • Wanda K. Reder (Nominated by IEEE Board of Directors)



top of page


IEEE Division Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2017

Division I

Societies: IEEE Circuits and Systems; IEEE Electron Devices Society; IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society 

  • Rakesh Kumar (Nominated by IEEE Division I)
  • Renuka P. Jindal (Nominated by IEEE Division I)

Division III

Societies: IEEE Communications Society

  • Vijay K. Bhargava (Nominated by IEEE Division III)
  • Alexander D. Gelman (Nominated by IEEE Division III)
  • Ashutosh Dutta (Nominated by IEEE Division III)

Division V

Societies: IEEE Computer Society 

  • John W. Walz (Nominated by IEEE Division V)
  • Sorel Reisman (Nominated by IEEE Division V)

Division VII

Societies: IEEE Power & Energy Society

  • Bruno Meyer (Nominated by IEEE Division VII)
  • Nirmal K.C. Nair (Nominated by IEEE Division VII)

Division IX

Societies: IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society; IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society; IEEE Information Theory Society; IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society; IEEE Oceanic Engineering Society; IEEE Signal Processing Society; IEEE Vehicular Technology Society 

  • James M. Irvine (Nominated by IEEE Division IX)
  • Alejandro "Alex" Acero (Nominated by IEEE Division IX)



top of page


IEEE Region Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect, 2017-2018

Region 2 (Eastern USA)

  • Wolfram Bettermann (Nominated by IEEE Region 2)
  • Murty S. Polavarapu (Nominated by IEEE Region 2)

Region 4 (Central USA)

  • David Alan Koehler (Nominated by IEEE Region 4)
  • Hamid Vakilzadian (Nominated by IEEE Region 4)

Region 6 (Western USA)

  • Ram Sivaraman (Nominated by IEEE Region 6)
  • Keith A. Moore (Nominated by IEEE Region 6)

Region 8 (Africa, Europe, Middle East)

  • Magdalena Salazar-Palma (Nominated by IEEE Region 8)
  • Tariq S. Durrani (Nominated by IEEE Region 8)
  • Elya B. Joffe (Nominated by IEEE Region 8)

Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)

  • Stefan G. Mozar (Nominated by IEEE Region 10)
  • Akinori Nishihara (Nominated by IEEE Region 10)



top of page


IEEE Standards Association Board of Governors Member-at-Large, 2017-2018

  • W.C. “Chuck” Adams, Jr. (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)
  • Mark Epstein (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)
  • Robert S. Fish (Nominated by IEEE Standards Association)


top of page


IEEE Technical Activities Vice President-Elect, 2017

  • Susan “Kathy” Land (Nominated by IEEE Technical Activities Board)
  • Sergio Benedetto (Nominated by IEEE Technical Activities Board)


top of page


IEEE-USA President-Elect, 2017

  • Charles P. Rubenstein (Nominated by IEEE-USA)
  • Edward G. Perkins (Nominated by IEEE-USA)
  • Sandra L. “Candy” Robinson (Nominated by IEEE-USA)


top of page


IEEE-USA Member-at-Large, 2017-2018

  • Wole Akpose (Nominated by IEEE-USA)
  • Peter S. Winokur (Nominated by IEEE-USA)


top of page